Books
Most Recent Point Of Interest
Babymouse: Tales From The Locker (Middle School Series) by Jennifer L. Holm & Matthew Holm
Most of the book is text, however there are many sketch-type illustrations, charts, lists, and other pop-in graphics to liven things up.
First off, I don’t read a ton of these “crossover” books meant to appeal to readers who are moving into longer chapter books as they approach 6th grade and up. It’s not that I’m against them, I simply don’t come across them too often. That being said, I really liked this new form for Babymouse and as far as I know, it works perfectly as a longer-but-not-too-challenging chapter book.

In this opening story of a new Babymouse series, she moves up from her regular home (a successful series of graphic novels for younger readers) to a longer chapter based adventure occurring in a wild, unpredictable jungle. Well, not a jungle so much as the halls of a middle school, but it’s basically the same thing. As a carryover from her graphic novel days, the book still has many illustrations and cute, clever visual add-ins to give pizzazz to certain key elements of Babymouse’s conundrum. Which is: how to manage a team of fellow students with the goal of creating, filming, producing, and premiering a real movie. On a zero dollar budget! Babymouse learns a few important things along the way such as to how to work well with others, accept help, and treat people fairly.

As I wrote at the top, I really think this is an entirely appropriate, excellently written book for its target market of middle school readers who are growing in literary confidence. Kids will love Babymouse’s appearance, voice and tone--as well as her animal friends and her relatable struggles and successes. Fans of Geronimo Stilton books, Raina Telgemeier graphic novels, Baby-Sitters Club graphic novels, and the like will definitely dig this new series.

(I received an advanced reader’s copy of this book by replying to a promotional email from the publisher. I have provided as honest review.)
Kevin's Bacon